Day 12 of #100happydays – Staying Organized (And How To Get That Way)

We all have crazy busy lives. I’m sure you’ve gotten a sense of my hectic days over the course of my #100happydays challenge. It can be hard to remember everything and stay on top of everything. Little things are easily forgotten when each day’s to-do list is a million items long. I have found a system that works really well for me.

wpid-IMG_20140130_150224.jpg

My day planner is my life – I’m sure many of you feel the same. Whether you have a book version or use something online, it’s they key to keeping track of a hectic life. Here’s a list of tips that I have developed that keep me organized:

  1. Write everything down. Everything. I log even the smallest items into my day planner. I find that the busier I get, the more I need to remind myself to do things. Whether it be scheduling time in to study for an upcoming exam or washing my car, I write it down. When it comes to something that needs to be done, better safe than sorry!
  2. Colour code. With writing so many entries down and trying to schedule things based upon priority, I find that colour coding is really helpful. Pink for personal things, green for assignments, blue for work, yellow for meetings and appointments, and so on. This way, if I have a really busy day – and only a few hours to accomplish a bunch of things – I can pick and choose based upon importance. It also helps when I scan forward to see what is coming up.
  3. Bring your planner everywhere. This book is like my oxygen. I get all panicky when I realize I have forgotten to bring it along. This is where having an online system or an app is helpful – but I’m old school and opt for paper. If you have it with you at all times, you’ll never be stuck in a situation where you are trying to schedule something in advance but don’t know what you have going on.
  4. Check items off. This is partly for gratification, partly for purpose. If you check items off once you have completed them, then you are never wondering if you actually finished something or if you did it at all. You can also look back and see what still needs to be done from a previous date. And after all that hard work to finish a task, it feels pretty good to place a check next to it.

This system works really well for me. I do admit, it is sometimes hard to stay on top of it. But nothing ever comes easy!

What tips and tricks do you use to stay organized?

One thought on “Day 12 of #100happydays – Staying Organized (And How To Get That Way)

  1. I like to use a to-do list app where I can set my reminders. I also use Google calendar with syncs directly with my phone, laptop, and iPad. Colour-coding is the best system for the very reasons you listed!

Leave a Reply

